Skip Navigation
Report a Concern
Cricket bails are replaced

The Cricket Regulator - Who We Are

The remit of the Cricket Regulator includes matters of anti-discrimination, anti-corruption, anti-doping, misconduct and safeguarding.

Dave Lewis, Interim Director, Cricket Regulator

Dave Lewis is Interim Director of the Cricket Regulator. Dave spent 30 years as a police officer and retired as Deputy Chief Constable of Dorset Police in 2020. He has been tasked with setting up the Cricket Regulator, with the permanent position to be appointed later this year through open recruitment. He reports into Nic Coward, independent Chair of the Regulatory Board, and not through to the ECB Board and executive. 

Regulatory Board

The Cricket Regulator is overseen by cricket’s Regulatory Board, an independent body established as part of the game’s response to the Independent Commission for Equity in Cricket report. Members of the Regulatory Board are:

Nic Coward (Chair) has been chair or CEO of national governing bodies of football and golf, horseracing and athletics. Previously General Secretary of the Premier League, he continues to advise sports and entertainment businesses across the world, and chairs a number of companies and representative organisations.

Jerry Cope was Group Managing Director of Royal Mail, Chair of both Kingston and London South Bank Universities, Chair of the Prison Service and NHS Pay Review bodies, and Chair of the Croydon Health Alliance. Heavily involved in bridge and other sports, he was also chair of a leadership consultancy to the private and public sectors before its sale to a listed company.

Suzanne Jacob OBE, Chief Executive of SafeLives from 2017 to recently, and a trustee of Crimestoppers UK. Two decades of experience working in safeguarding, vulnerability, and support for people who have had adverse experiences linked to crime and discrimination. Suzanne had a number of roles at the Home Office, including intelligence and security for the London 2012 Olympics. She has also worked in a voluntary capacity for Victim Support.
Rajesh Pillai KC is a King’s Counsel specialising in complex commercial litigation and international arbitration, and regulatory matters. Rajesh is also New York and BVI bar qualified. 

Kathryn Richardson is General Counsel of Paramount's UK television and streaming business which includes Channel 5, previously Head of Commercial Rights & Business Affairs at the BBC. She is also a director of YouView and the Creative Diversity Network, and a Level 2 cricket coach.

Dr Priya Singh, Chair of National Council for Voluntary Organisations and of NHS Frimley Integrated Care Board, and an executive director at the Society for Assistance of Medical Families. Priya has a background in general medical practice, and as a specialist in medical law, ethics, risk and safety, and was responsible at the Medical Protection Society for professional services to 290,000 health professionals around the world. Previously Deputy Chair of Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, a member of the London Policing Ethics Panel, and an associate with Working With Cancer.

Helen Stephenson CBE, CEO of the Charity Commission for England and Wales.  Previously Director of Early Years and Childcare at the Department for Education, and in the Cabinet Office as Director of the Office for Civil Society and Government Innovation Group, and the Big Lottery Fund where she was Head of Strategic Policy and Partnerships. Helen is a board member of the National Lottery Community Fund, previously on the Board of the Big Society Trust, and Chair of National Childbirth Trust.

Dr Arun Thiyagarajan, currently Global Healthcare Transformation Director for BUPA. Previous positions include Managing Director for BUPA UK's Health Clinics, and Medical Director. He is the Responsible Officer for BUPA UK. 

Jim Wood is a former chair of Devon Cricket and the Recreational Assembly, as well as the ECB Board. In his professional career, he was deeply involved in social care, with a particular specialism in safeguarding.